Pinterest Challenge: Watermelon Sculpture

b3973eafccfa8259459e32eb986c1bcbThe Challenge: To make the turtliest turtle in the watermelon turtle club. In other words, make something similar to this pin.

Your Part: To decide if I FAILED IT 👎  or NAILED IT 👍

This challenge is especially exciting because it came with no instructions whatsoever. The picture is all I had to work from, so I had to bring in some extra creative watermelon juices to get the job done. And it was hard work! Please do not call me to make one of these for your party tomorrow because I just can’t do it. Too much pressure. Well, maybe I will because I like you and you mean a lot to me. But I’d prefer if you asked a few days in advance. Sorry to be so slow in getting to the challenge. Slow and steady wins the race. Tortoises. Turtles. Watermelon sculpture. Okay, moving on.


IMG_2518

First I grabbed a watermelon from the supermarket; I tried to pick one that looked as green as a turtle. Selecting the perfect color and shape, while keeping in mind ripeness for the taste factor, was a hard job. Which is why I made my sister carry it back to the car.

IMG_2517

Once I got it home, I realised that I don’t have any fancy sculpture tools. So I just grabbed a bunch of sharp stuff from the kitchen.

I wasn’t really sure how to start, so I just decided to cut the watermelon in half, and start digging! I usually just cut it up into cubes or slices, but I tried the fancy melon balling technique. It did not go as well as expected. In fact, the watermelon came out more like chunks and less like the fancy spheres I was hoping for. bloggif_558a25a169df6

IMG_2527IMG_2532

                                      I could feel my biceps growing by the second as I scooped out the fruit. This is not a job for the weak!

After both sides were emptied, I trimmed pieces of the rind off to use for the turtle’s legs and head. There’s no easy way to do this, and I didn’t really know what I would use for what, but the scraps seemed like they had potential.IMG_2535

IMG_2537                                                               Carving the design into the shell was definitely the hardest part. I could not find any good way to do this. I tried a knife, a carrot peeler, a shish kabob stick, an orange peeler, and my fingernail. The edge of the carrot peeler not meant for peeling did the trick. Also, I’m not great with geometric patterns so it didn’t turn out symmetrically.

Now it’s time to put it all together! I shoved the watermelon back in the bottom, and used toothpicks to attach the turtle’s appendages to the lid.IMG_2540IMG_2545


So what do you think?

IMG_2543

b3973eafccfa8259459e32eb986c1bcb

11 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge: Watermelon Sculpture

  1. Definitely nailed it. The back of a carrot peeler…that’s crafty. The ice cream scooper looked like a great idea too. I’ve been in 2 watermelon eating contest where I’ve had to dig my face into half of a watermelon. Maybe next time I’ll sneak an ice cream scooper with me to “help” haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That contest sounds like fun!! Considering the fact that you’ve already done it twice, you might want to to take a crafty carrot peeler as well and scratch “captain” into the rind. Just an idea.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

