Pinterest Challenge: Coffee Shop Muffins

chocolate-chip-muffins-2The challenge: to follow this recipe exactly, and create chocolate chip muffins that look and taste super fancy and expensive.

The fun part: deciding whether I failed it or nailed it!

I’m not new to baking. In fact, I’m known for a few signature recipes, including a delicious homemade chocolate cake. But I decided to leave my preconceived baking notions aside, and Amelia Bedelia it up (AKA not stray from the words of the written recipe).


IMG_2423

IMG_2429IMG_2431

    I started off by preheating the oven to 475°, and by preheating, I mean breaking the oven knob off accidentally. I panicked a little bit, thinking these muffins would be harder than I thought. Second time’s the charm, though. Woo this is going to be exciting, I can tell.

bloggif_558384ca92144

Next, the recipe said to grab a large bowl, and “toss together” flour, chocolate chips, baking soda, and some other stuff. So I followed the recipe, and I tossed it like it was my job. Trust me, that is how the professionals do it.

Now another bowl, this one full of wet ingredients, was about to get involved. The eggs, milk, and vanilla were no problem, but I wasn’t exactly sure how to go about “cooling” the melted butter before adding it. I decided to stick it in the fridge, and that seemed to do the trick real fast.

IMG_2449

Once the butter was adequately (Joe) cool, I was told to “fold” both bowls of ingredients together. That was hard work. No wonder Starbucks charges so much for these things!

bloggif_55838929c8250

At this point, I was getting pretty tired out. But with the promise of muffins, I ate a few M&Ms and pressed on!

I have to admit, I was a little disappointed that this only makes 12 muffins.     IMG_2454

But when I took a peek, it was totally worth it!

IMG_2456

Of course I had to pull the muffin top off and eat that first. It was delightful with a cup of caramel vanilla cream coffee!

IMG_2465

IMG_2467

So what do you think?

FAILED IT 👎  or NAILED IT 👍 ?

7 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge: Coffee Shop Muffins

  1. Definitely nailed it. The last two pictures look like they can be in an advertisement. “Eat our muffins, they taste good” or some catchy tagline like that haha. Good ratio of chocolate chips to muffin too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

