The Secret About Purses -Freestyle Writing Challenge

I was nominated by Paul over on Captain’s Speech. Go check out his blog. It’s great! My topic is “your childhood”, and I get there in a roundabout way. Just kinda how my brain works. 

Here are the rules for the challenge, feel free to skip over them:

1. Open an MS Word document. (I wrote mine in a WP draft to get the word count and then added the rest of the post afterwards.)

2. Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat.

3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.

4. Fill the word doc with as many words as you can in the time limit. Once you began writing do not stop even to turn.

5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)

6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and CAPITALS. However if you do, it would be best.

7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. Of words =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.

8. Do not forget to copy & paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new Topic for your nominees (at least 5) and copy & paste these rules with your nominations.

 Purses are sacred. Sometimes I pity men for not having the social capacity to carry one. But it’s also nice knowing that guys can depend on my handy bag, and therefore have no place commenting on how many I own. I keep everything I need in there, of course the essentials: chapstick, money, keys, phone, ID, crumpled up receipts, gum, an extra pair of pants, a book for if I get bored, healthy snacks for later, chocolate that I’ll eat instead of the healthy snacks, hand sanitizer and Clorox wipes heaven forbid I have to take the metro or use a public restroom, dog treats in case I see a dog, hair ties, a mini hairbrush, a mirror, some makeup to touch up with, a small bottle of perfume, you can literally throw anything in a purse and it’s okay. You never know when you’ll need anything. 

Seriously, no one can judge what’s in your purse. The weirder the better. In fact, here’s a little secret about women; they sometimes play this game at showers and lady events where you win prizes for having random crap in your purse. You got a waffle iron? Come on downnnnn $5 gift card. I’m so serious. 

When I was younger, I used to write on EVERYTHING. I would label things, write letters to imaginary friends, scrawl words on my bunk bed. And my purse was no different. I had a plasticy blue purse that had a flap that closed with the latest in purse technology: velcro. Just like my sneakers.

 I remember sitting on the couch one day before heading out shopping with my family, and there was a pen on the side table. It taunted me. I picked it up and just held the pen. It’s alright I was just holding it. I knew my mother didn’t want me to write on anything since the jewelry box incident. But then I just decided to open my Velcro purse flap while holding the pen, and suddenly letters spilled onto the page of one of my credit card holders. (Which is absurd by the way, putting credit card slots on a child’s purse. A kid cannot have that many gift cards.) 

For some reason, “tr” felt right. I think it may have been part of my crush’s name at the time. Probably one of the guys from the worship team. I loved a guy who could sing. Then suddenly I remembered that this was my purse, and not a diary, and mom would NOT be happy about this! I panicked and scrawled some more letters. “Trab”. TRAB what in the jelly donut is a TRAB??? I tried to calm myself down. What had I done?! First off, I had written on a perfectly good purse. I had defaced it. I was a vandal. I was really starting to get mad at myself. But then I had a plan. I fixed the letters, and turned the word into “trash”. Ahah! I had a trash pocket for old receipts and gum wrappers. Now that’s practical if I do say so myself. 

514 words.

As for nominations, if you’re reading this, you’re nominated! I can be more specific once I’ve been on here long enough to know more blogs. For those of you brave enough, your topic is VACATION. 

12 thoughts on “The Secret About Purses -Freestyle Writing Challenge

      1. Lol well the post turned out great. Also, “dog treats in case I see a dog”? I’m convinced that purses are like Narnia. Whole different world in there.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha I really love dogs. I’ve never had one, but it’s kind of a dream of mine. Oh, they definitely are. Sometimes we don’t even know what’s in there.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I was tossed like a morning newspaper. Didn’t even remember flying through the air. Was just inside the house all of a sudden. (And no, I did not have dog treats in my snowsuit).

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Zoos are great! Especially petting zoos. Except I don’t have great luck. I got my arm stuck in an enclosure once trying to pet a horse. 😂 And then there was the time that goat bit me…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

