That Time I Ripped My Pants

You know, life is funny sometimes. Just the other day I wrote about a pair of jeans that gave me magical powers at the water fountain. (You can read about that here) And today, those same favorite jeans have yet again kept my life interesting. Today, the strings that bind those wonderful pants gave out. But let’s start at the beginning.

Feeling deprived of showcasing my acting abilities, I jumped at the chance to read a part for The Real Inspector Hound in my British Lit class. I was really just expecting to sit in our usual circle and read the play aloud, but nope my teacher loves this play and wanted it performed without set blocking or prior knowledge of the script. I read ahead so I would have some idea of what was going on, and so naturally I prepared a dramatic death scene for the moment I was supposed to get shot.

I looked up into the light and exclaimed, “Goodbye cruel, world!” before falling to my knees gripping my chest, and then falling to the floor. There were a few giggles, but the outrageous laughter came from a part of the scene I did not plan. Halfway down to the ground I heard a loud RIIIIIP. My favorite jeans were torn by the claws of pride.

But the show must go on, and I just prayed it wasn’t too big of a tear. Things were breezy as the inspector looked over my corpse, and I lied there terrified of getting up to change scenes.

As I walked back from class laughing at myself, I decided that it could’ve been a lot worse, for example, I could’ve forgotten to wear pants to class in the first place. Another possibility is if I hadn’t gone to class and had missed this hilarious moment.

I think life is a lot about laughing at yourself, and helping people to laugh at themselves, too. While my family may not be proud of my ability to not get embarrassed easily, it’s a part of life I enjoy. Embrace the awkward. Life is life, and it’s going to keep you on your toes. A big part of what happens to you involves your reaction to it.

So now I’m gonna have to go to the mall to get some more pants, but at least I can say I left that class this semester with a bang…err tear.

2 thoughts on “That Time I Ripped My Pants

Leave a Reply

